Sunday, January 19, 2014

[Cryptworld] 7 Days of Things, Day 5: Bloodoak (AKA: Vampire Vine, Devil's Snare)

A Man-Eating Plant Thing for Cryptworld

STR: 4 (60) --- WPR: NA
DEX: 4 (60) --- PER: NA
AGL: 5 (75) --- PCN: 3 (45)
STA: 3 (45) --- PWR: NA
ATT: 2/68% --- WND: 12

Experience: 500

"Bloodoak" is a general term referring to a class of large, tree-like, carnivorous plants. A Bloodoak can range from 15 to 40 feet in height, is found in any climate, and can look like any common tree from the area. However, the Bloodoak's upper limbs are instead writhing tendrils, each well over 20 feet in length, and covered with sharp, barbed thorns. The Bloodoak uses these vine-like tentacles to lash out and grasp its prey. It then lifts the victim to the top of the boughs, while its thorns tear and rend the victim's body.

At the top of the Bloodoak's trunk is an orifice that passes for a "mouth." Once the victim has stopped moving (whether dead or unconscious), the vines shove the body into its mouth, the orifice closes and seals shut, and the tendrils hide themselves amongst the branches again, leaving no sign of the struggle. Once inside the Bloodoak, the victim is digested by powerful acids over 24 hours until nothing remains. The Bloodoak absorbs the dissolved corpse, and any undigested materials (metals, plastics, etc.) are expelled at the base of the Bloodoak's trunk -- enticing "bait" for a future victim.

A Bloodoak's tendrils grapple in the same manner as the Wrestling skill (Cryptworld rulebook, page 18). With a successful attack with an "H" result, the victim is "Held" by the Bloodoak and takes normal "H" result unarmed damage each round. The victim will be unable to perform any other action other trying to free himself. He can free himself if 1) he wins initiative and passes a general Unskilled Melee, Wrestling, or Martial Arts check, all with a -20 modifier, or 2) another party successfully attacks the Bloodoak with a called shot to the tendril(s) holding the victim. If the Bloodoak successfully grapples with a "C" result ("Constricted"), the victim has a -40 modifier to break the hold, and takes "C" result unarmed damage each round.

A Bloodoak is not an intelligent creature, only reacting and attacking out of instinct. It is "rooted" in place and is easily avoided if you stay out of reach of its tendrils. However, once it has hold of you, it is unlikely that you will escape its grasp.

1 comment: